To be Honest

BY SAMANTHA CARRANZA

Sunday, April 30 National Honesty Day

Students know there are different kinds of lies, either to spare someone’s feelings, to get out of trouble, or to stretch the truth a little. No matter the type of lie or how much of the truth was changed, everyone has told a lie or two. National Honesty Day on April 30 challenges people to tell the truth and seniors are taking on the challenge. Seniors confess their thoughts, experiences, and secrets.

What’s a secret that no one knows about you?

Laura Vasquez, a senior in Visual and Performing Arts

“I created fake Twitter accounts to retweet certain people’s tweets to mislead them. It was immature but funny.”

Jonathan Padilla, a senior in Technology & Media magnet

“I sell tortas and chips.”

Ismael Torres, a senior in Technology & Media magnet

“I didn’t know I could twerk until the Powderpuff game.”

Emmanuel Maravilla ,a senior Health Science & Environment

“I’ll write your SLP for 30 bucks.”

Julio Tena, a senior in Technology & Media magnet

“I never had a stable relationship because people think I’m gay.”

What is most important in high school, being the smartest kid or the most popular kid?

Melissa Moreno, a senior in Health Science & Environment

“I’d rather be the smartest kid because popularity does not get you far in life. Popularity in high school won’t matter as you can always have brains [but] not fame.”

Is there a moment that you regret?

Lizette Loera, a senior in Technology & Media magnet

“I regret telling a girl that her clothes were inappropriate, because she acted surprisingly upset.”

Ana Hernandez, a senior in Justice, Law & Service

“I regret teasing a person that stuttered. I didn’t know they had a speech impediment… oops.”

What is one thing you regret not saying?

Adriana Huerta, a senior in Visual and Performing Arts

“Where is my ring?”

###

Leave a Reply

